The Vegetarian Diet is about not eating animals in the food that is consumed.
What Is Excluded From A Vegetarian Diet?
The vegetarian diet excludes any animal products such as:
- Meat (Chicken, Beef, Venison, Lamb, etc.)
- Fish and Shellfish
- Meat-based ingredients (gelatin, lard, etc)
A vegan diet, by contrast, also exclude animal-derived products such as:
- Milk and all dairy products
While the vegetarian diet is relatively simple, there are many branches of the diet that have more specific restrictions such as:
- Ovo-vegetarian diet: Vegetarian diet, but without dairy.
- Lacto-vegetarian diet: Vegetarian diet, but without eggs.
- Lacto-ovo-vegetarian diet: Vegetarian diet, but without eggs and dairy.
- Pescetarian diet: Vegetarian diet but with fish.
- Flexitarian diet: Vegetarian diet, but occasional meat and fish.
- Vegan diet: Vegetarian diet, but without any animal-derived ingredients.